Home > Microsoft, Microsoft Communicator Server / Lync, OCS 2007 R2 > Unable to send IM to OCS 2007 R2 user

Unable to send IM to OCS 2007 R2 user


 

Recently had a client who were unable to send IM’s after a LCS to OCS 2007 R2 upgrade.

 

users got “Joe Bloggs could not be reached and this message was not delivered” when starting a new IM conversation with certain users, although if that user started a conversation with them they were able to converse.

 

After installing the 2007 Resource kit and running a trace on “SIPStack” I saw the following error message;

 

"The application specified an invalid static forwarding url"

 

A Google (oh our trusty friend) showed up the following post;

 

http://theucguy.wordpress.com/2009/03/23/a-sip-request-made-by-communicator-failed-in-an-unexpected-manner-status-code-80ef01f4/

 

In short this was right, only the “other” value was indeed a blank value. After I removed this (and waited for AD to replicate to the DC that OCS was looking at), IM’s worked.

 

Client has asked me to write a script to check AD users for this, so if I do I will post up here 🙂

 

UPDATE:

 

After a user comment on this I decided to investigate more via ADSI edit.

If I add a “blank” (or space) value to the Other IP phone to a user via ADSI edit, it looks like this;

 

image

This doesn’t look too bad – however if I expand the property I can select the “first line” like such;

 

image

And sure enough, in the AD Users and Computers counterpart I can do the  same;

 

image

Removing this value (either via ADSI edit or AD UC) means I can no longer select this value whatsoever.

It also leaves the ADSI value as <not set> as can be seen below;

 

image

 

In short, if you are having this problem – make sure that the attribute is listed as <not set> in ADSI edit – anything other than this and it should be cleared down 🙂

 

Hope that helps! 🙂

  1. Adam
    March 1, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    *In short this was right, only the “other” value was indeed a blank value. After I removed this (and waited for AD to replicate to the DC that OCS was looking at), IM’s worked.*

    What exactly did you remove? In my environment, I’m getting the same error and there is no value set for IP phone -> Other.

    • March 1, 2011 at 7:57 pm

      Hi Adam,

      In short I removed the blank value – if you can click where the top entry should be then that’s what I removed.

      I can have a look via ADSI edit to see If I can replicate if you want?

    • March 2, 2011 at 12:38 pm

      Adam,

      I’ve updated the post with some pretty ADSI edit screenies and more of an explanation as to what I found (and what to check for if you are getting this error) – can you reply and let me know if this helps at all?

      Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

